top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVeronica McMorrow

I Louvre French food

My next destination in this whirlwind of a semester was Paris, France or the city of lights or the city of love. I traveled with five friends to this city that I'd only ever encountered in movies and on TV. Because we arrived at the apartment we were staying in around 10pm, it was only possible to find a mediocre restaurant where we all decided to eat caesar salad. On Saturday we crammed so many sightseeing and touristy spots in to twelve hours. The first stop was breakfast. Yes, food is always a top priority and who goes to Paris without eating chocolate croissants?

There were so many places on my list to see, but only so much time. Our first real stop was to see the Mona Lisa in The Louvre. In actuality we ended up seeing so many more art pieces than just the Mona Lisa because The Louvre is so big that we ended up being lost a couple of times. Apparently you would have to spend 100 days in The Louvre if you looked at every piece of art for at least 30 seconds. I did not have that kind of time. The Mona Lisa is also much smaller than every other piece of art that I saw that day. Next on the agenda were the striped pole things. Honestly, I'm not sure of what they're actually called, but they make for good photo opportunities! If you ever want to see them, they're very close to The Louvre.

I know what you're waiting for. Yes, of course, I had French onion soup, while I was in France! What else would I do? It was probably some of the best French onion soup that I've ever had. One of my friends had escargot (snails) and that is one food item that I could not be paid billions of dollars to even try. Good for her for being adventurous, but snails don't seem like the best kind of snack to me. On our walk to the Eiffel Tower, we stopped at a very cute place called Angelina's. They have the absolute best hot chocolate, but you could also call it melted chocolate with a dash of milk. It was raining pretty much during the whole walk to the Eiffel Tower, but I had so much fun because one of my friend's umbrella's kept going inside out, so I was laughing the whole time! Although it was misting for most of the day, the tower was just as beautiful as I thought it was going to be. I was also just tall enough to touch the top, as you all can see!

At night we went on this river tour that took us to see all of the important landmarks, including the restaurant that the movie Ratatouille was based off of, that lined the river. We were fortunate enough to see the Eiffel Tower all lit up and twinkling! Because of the luck of the Irish, we just happened upon the lock bridge, which was one of the landmarks that I had been looking forward to seeing. The bridge is full of locks that thousands of people have left there over the years.

To end the night we had poulet fromage crepes (chicken and cheese), which were delicious and tasted kind of like a quesadilla. I made everyone stop so that I could get macarons and it was definitely worth it. I am absolutely loving life at the moment, but also cannot wait to see my friends and family in 5 short weeks!

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page